Együttesek Koncertek Koncertek [eng] Koncertek | Énekkar [hun] Koncertek | Szimfonikus zenekar [eng] Koncertek 2019/20 2.félév [eng]

José Cura: Montezuma and the Red Priest - Opera buffa, ma non troppo - world premiere


Music Academy, Great Hall 2020-01-29 szerda 19:30

José Cura: Montezuma and the Red Priest – Opera buffa, ma non troppo – world premiere

Artists: Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and Choir (choirmaster: Zoltán Pad)
Organ, harpsichord continuo: Soma Dinyés

Narrator: Ádám Bősze

Conductor: José Cura

José Cura himself wrote the libretto to the opera buffa Montezuma and the Red Priest, the starting point of which was the fantastical novel by Alejo Carpentier Baroque Music, which is apparently about the birth of the Vivaldi opera Montezuma, providing huge space for both the literary and, naturally, musical imagination.

“In 1988 a friend of mine presented me with a book for my 26th birthday: Alejo Carpentier’s Concierto Barroco. Inside, my friend’s handwritten dedication served as a way to plant the seed of the idea of making an opera out of this fantastic novel. So I read, and notated every page —but I had no operatic experience at all back then and so I didn’t know where to begin when it came to writing an opera. The book “slept” in my library for 29 years, until we decided to reorganise it in 2017 and, in the process, Concierto Barroco fell out of its shelf, but this time my friend’s prophecy was here to stay. I reread the novel, and was impressed by how perfectly it could fit into a comic opera, “comic” not only in the sense of it being intentionally laughter-inducing, but also in the way the story is structured, in a madcap fashion —with some interesting morals to be found along the way. An opera buffa, ma non troppo, as I subtitled it. I wrote the first draft of the libretto in one afternoon (or was it in 30 years?) and put music to it in the summer of 2017, finally orchestrating it in 2019.” (José Cura)

Cast in order of appearance

Francisquillo – János Alagi
The Baron – Matias Tosi
The Lover – Katalin Károlyi
Backstage voices
A Woman – Gabriella Sallay
A Man – Péter Tóth
1. Nóra Ducza
2. Bernadett Nagy
3. Kornélia Bakos
4. József Csapó
5. Szabolcs Hámori

Il Carnevale
Vivaldi – Donát Varga
Handel – Domonkos Blazsó
Scarlatti – József Gál
Filomeno – Zoltán Megyesi
Host – Róbert Rezsnyák
Dávid Simon (flute)
Zsanett Pfujd (bassoon)
Balázs Csonka (violin)
Eszter Reményi Csiky (violoncello)
Helga Kiss (percussion)

Donna 1 – Kornélia Bakos
Donna 2 – Nóra Ducza
Donna 3 – Katalin Süveges
Donna 4 – Bernadett Nagy
Uomo 1 – József Csapó
Uomo 2 – Gábor Pivarcsi
Uomo 3 – Szabolcs Hámori

Orderly Noun – Borbála László
Orphans orchestra
Bianca Maria – Fruzsina Varga (flute)
Claudia – Melinda Kozár (oboe)
Cattarina – Yoshie Toyonaga (clarinet)
Lucietta – Dóra Béres (trumpet)
Pierina – Ildikó Fazekas (violin)
Bettina – Katalin Madák (viola)
Margherita – Rita Keresztes (cello)
Giuseppina – Gerda Kocsis (contrabass)

Il Cimitero
The Gondoliere and the Friar – Róbert Rezsnyák

La Prova
Motezuma – Matias Tosi
Teutile – Nóra Ducza
Ramiro – Kornélia Bakos
Fernando – Bernadett Nagy
Mitrena – Katalin Károlyi
Stage Manager – Pál Kálmán Könyves
Spectator – Péter Tóth

Hungarian translation: Éva Lax and Ildikó Szijj

Ticket prices: 2.000 HUF/ 3.000 HUF/ 4.000 HUF/ 5.000 HUF

Next concerts